Lok Sabha (Parliament) - Interesting Facts

The Lok Sabha (House of the People) was duly constituted for the first time on 17 April, 1952 after the first General Elections held from 25 October, 1951 to 21 February, 1952. The first Session of the First Lok Sabha commenced on 13 May, 1952. The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of adult suffrage. Hence it is called the Popular Chamber. The quorum to constitute a sitting of the House is one-tenth of the total number of Members of the House under article 100(3) of the Constitution.

Strength of the Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha, as per the Constitution, consists of not more than five hundred and thirty Members (530) chosen by direct election from territorial constituencies in the States, not more than twenty Members to represent the Union Territories [Article 81] and not more than two Members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the President, if he/she is of the opinion that the Anglo-Indian Community is not adequately represented in the Lok Sabha [Article 331].

The limit on the maximum number of Members chosen directly from territorial constituencies in States may be exceeded if such an increase is incidental to the reorganization of States by an Act of Parliament.

Election of the Lok Sabha Members

The Members of the Lok Sabha are elected through General Elections, held on the basis of  universal adult suffrage. Parliament, from time to time, by law makes provision with respect to all matters relating to, or in connection with, elections to the Lok Sabha, including the preparation of electoral rolls, the delimitation of constituencies and all other matters necessary for securing the due constitution of the Lok Sabha. When the seat of a Member elected to the House becomes vacant or is declared vacant, or his/her election is declared void, the same is filled through bye-election.

Qualifications to Become a Member of the Lok Sabha

To become a member of the Lok Sabha, a person should be a citizen of India, not less than 25 years of age and possess such other qualifications as may be prescribed by or under any law made by Parliament [Art. 84]

Lok Sabha General Elections Held

As many as sixteen General Elections to the Lok Sabha have been held till date. They are listed below from first to last:

  1. General Elections from 25 October, 1951 to 21 February, 1952
  2. General Elections from 24 February to 14 March, 1957
  3. General Elections from 19 to 25 February, 1962
  4. General Elections from 17 to 21 February, 1967
  5. General Elections from 1 to 10 March, 1971
  6. General Elections from 16 to 20  March, 1977
  7. General Elections from 3 to 6 January, 1980
  8. General Elections from 24 to 28 December, 1984
  9. General Elections from 22 to 26 November, 1989
  10. General Elections from 20 May to 15 June, 1991
  11. General Elections from 27 April to 30 May, 1996
  12. General Elections from 16 to 23 February, 1998
  13. General Elections from 5 September to 6 October 1999
  14. General Elections from 20 April to 10 May, 2004
  15. General Elections from 16 April to 13 May, 2009
  16. General Elections from 7 April, 2014 to 12 May, 2014

Life of the Lok Sabha

Unless sooner dissolved by the President, the Lok Sabha continues for five years from the date appointed for its first meeting and no longer, as the expiration of the period of five years operates as a dissolution of the House. However, while a Proclamation of Emergency is in operation, this period may be extended by Parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time and not exceeding in any case beyond a period of six months after the Proclamation has ceased to operate.

The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker in Lok Sabha

The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are the Presiding Officers of the Lok Sabha. The Speaker continues in office till immediately before the first meeting of Lok Sabha after dissolution of the one to which he/she was elected, unless he/she ceases to be a Member by any of the reasons specified in articles 94, 101 and 102 of the Constitution.

The Deputy Speaker presides over the Lok Sabha when the Speaker is absent from the sitting of the House.

When the Offices of both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker fall vacant, the duties of the Office of the Speaker are performed by such Member of the Lok Sabha as the President may appoint for the purpose. The person so appointed is known as the Speaker pro tem.

The Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha provide that at the commencement of the House or from time to time, as the case may be, the Speaker shall nominate from amongst the Members a Panel of not more than ten Chairpersons, any one of whom may preside over the House in the absence of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker when so requested by the Speaker or, in the absence of the Speaker, by the Deputy Speaker. A Chairperson so nominated, holds office until a new Panel of Chairpersons is nominated, unless he/she resigns earlier from the Panel or is appointed a Minister or elected as Deputy Speaker.

Total Members (MP) in Sixteenth Lok Sabha

  1. Total members: 545
  2. Male members: 480
  3. Woman members: 65

Total Members (MP) in Each Political Party in 16th Lok Sabha

  1. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP): 4
  2. All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK): 37
  3. All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM): 1
  4. All India N.R. Congress (AINRC): 1
  5. All India Trinamool Congress (AITC): 33
  6. All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF): 3
  7. Apna Dal (AD): 2
  8. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): 279
  9. Biju Janata Dal (BJD): 20
  10. Communist Party of India (CPI): 1
  11. Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)): 9
  12. Independents (Ind.): 3
  13. Indian National Congress (INC): 45
  14. Indian National Lok Dal (INLD): 2
  15. Indian Union Muslim League (IUML): 2
  16. Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (JKPDP): 3
  17. Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)): 2
  18. Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)): 2
  19. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM): 2
  20. Kerala Congress (M) (KC(M)): 1
  21. Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJSP): 6
  22. Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF): 1
  23. National Peoples Party (NPP): 1
  24. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP): 6
  25. Nominated Anglo-Indian: 2
  26. Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK): 1
  27. Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD): 4
  28. Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP ): 3
  29. Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP): 1
  30. Samajwadi Party (SP): 5
  31. Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD): 4
  32. Shiv Sena (SS): 18
  33. Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF): 1
  34. Swabhimani Paksha (SWP): 1
  35. Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS): 11
  36. Telugu Desam Party (TDP): 16
  37. Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSR Congress Party): 9